Tags

, , ,

Whew, I just got done editing for the night.  It seems that while writing the chapter I was working on today I only had half of my mind in it, because there were a lot more errors to correct than I normally have to deal with.  For some reason I’ve decided to relax by writing a blog post.

Much like when I write something I try and write every day, when I’m editing something I try and edit every night.  I write about 2,000 words a night when working on a novel, and edit at a 2,500 to 3,000 word pace.  This seems to work for me.  It took me a lot longer to get a good editing pace than it took me to get my writing pace, but I’m settling into a good habit.

I guess my point, if there is one, is that it’s just as important to get a good editing pace as it is to have a good writing one.  I’ve had two novellas and a novel in first draft phase for a while, but let  it all build up because, while I had no problem writing them, it took me a lot of time to work up the same work ethic for editing them.  If I hadn’t started building up my editing pace I don’t think my novella would have ever gotten to the point where an editor could look at, much less my novels.

Things are going well now.  I’m on pace to have the second draft of the novel I’m working on done in a few weeks.  From there it’s another, quicker draft and off to an editor.  It took me months to start editing every day, but now I’m on track.  If you’re just starting to write learn from me and make sure to pay as much attention to your editing ethic as you do to your writing ethic, so that you don’t sit on your material for longer than you should the way I did at first.

Thank you as always for reading, dear reader, as I try and organize my thoughts through a blog post.  It means a lot to me.  Now get to editing, those of you who are my fellow writers!

