Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Still hard at work on the second draft for what will be the first novel I publish.  A quick check of the word document tells me I’m on page 321 of 356, and I estimate I have about 3 or 4 days left on the draft, maybe less if I work up a good head of steam one day.  I’m really excited to get this draft done with and have my editor look over it.  The book is looking better and better every day.

I don’t know I’ve given the premise of the book on here before, so if not I’ll leave a small one synopsis here:  A young, successful author finds out that all he’s worked for is coming crashing down around him when he is diagnosed with a fatal form of insomnia.  Relentless, the disease he has slowly slaps the ability to sleep until the sufferer cannot go to sleep whatsoever, resulting in a quick death full of suffering and insanity shortly thereafter.

Wanting to make the most of the rest of his time, and with no close family, he buys an RV and hires his best friend to accompany him on a trip across the United States, something he’s always wanted to do.  They meet girls, go to famous tourist sites, and have the great American road trip.  However, he keeps seeing something following him out of the corner of his eyes, following him.  Something not human.  As his ability to sleep slowly disappears, his visions get worse and worse, and he starts to wonder if they really are hallucinations… (Sorry if this is a bit sloppy, I’m just writing it on the fly.  We’ll come up with something better for the official blurb, or at least I hope.)

At the same time, I’ve begun work on another novel.  It’s fun to write so far, and I’ll give some updates when that gets further along.

Anyhow, I just hate to see my blog go so many days without an update.  I hope things are going great with everyone, and that you all have a great New Year’s.

 

